Launched! The 48 Places Plan Begins

22 07 2010

It’s done: I’ve found a place in Hana (#1 on Next 48 Places list), so my journey is launched. Best of all, it’s my own little apartment; no need to share a house with others. It’s just what I wanted: within walking distance of town and Hana Bay, high-speed Internet and cable TV, just the right amount of down-sizing, smart and helpful landlady. I’m just so thrilled to have found the perfect spot. As a friend said, “Sounds like a round peg in a round hole.”

So now the planning, sorting, boxing and chaos begin. Since I won’t be making the physical move until the second Saturday in August, I am putting off the chaos for another week. Want to enjoy my current apartment for one more week. I am the moving pro … I know from past experience that once the packing begins, it doesn’t take long to get it done. But I have started making preparations: collecting boxes, changing my address, making arrangements with friends for help during the move, seeing my dentist and optometrist, planning what will go where in my new apartment, plus a thousand little details to make the move as painless as possible.

My one sad task is finding new homes for my cats, Divinity and Cocoa. (See their photos below.) They have been my loyal and loving companions for the past 10 years. I know I will miss them terribly. But they are, after all, just cats … not children. I’ve never been one to be over-sentimental about my pets. I had to leave two cats in California when I moved to Hawaii in 1996. It’s hard but not impossible. Life goes on for me and my cats.

So dear readers, if you or someone you know would like to adopt either or both cats, please let me know. If I don’t find a friend to take them, I’ll put a flyer us at my vet’s office and post something on craigslist. I just pray that I find quiet, caring homes and that they adapt well. (Now that I won’t have pets to talk to, I hope I don’t turn into one of those old women who talk to themselves.)

Finding new homes for Divinity and Cocoa is the big hurtle. After that I should have smooth sailing as I begin the 48 Places journey. Hold onto your hats!

Divinity


Cocoa

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

